MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY CLUB OF MONTREAL HELD AT THE SAINT JAMES CLUB ON WEDNESDAY, MAY 30, 2018

ATTENDANCE:

Adèle Hébert Allan Mass Amin Noorani André Dufour Armand de Mestral Barbara Lewis B. Glowacki-Turowska **Bradley Semmelhaack** Bruce McNiven **Bryant Shiller** Chris Hyde Christine St-John Christopher Richter Claude David Colleen Cattiny Eleanor Nicholls Ellis Basevitz **Eric Perlinger** Erik Moisan Feras Zikra François Dufour François L. Morin

François Senécal Frederik Kieffer Gabriel Zaurrini Geneviève Weynerowski Ghalia Shamayeh Helga Loverseed Ivan Stetsvuk Jean-Louis Hamel Johanna Toti Joseph Nuss Julian Armstrong-O'Brien Julie Quenneville Kent Hovey-Smith Kokulan Mahendiran Laurent Liagre Lilian Shiller Louise Robertson Marc Cormier Mark Oppenheim Mary Larson Mary Rivard-David Mikey Colangelo-Lauzon

Miranda Esmonde-White Paul Lowenstein Paul R. Marchand Pierre Salbaing René Rozon Ron Meisels Ronald Domachevsky Rosalind Pepall Ruby Menasce Sandra Paikowsky Sean Duggan Stephen Scott Stuart Hyndman Sylvie Bourassa Tass Grivakes Ted Kalil Thomas Leslie Tracey Arial Warren Simpson Zacchary Cattiny Zsolt Nevery

PRESENT:

There were more than 20 members present constituting a quorum in accordance with the Bylaws of the Club. Me François Morin, Secretary, occupied the Chair.

NOTICE OF MEETING:

The Chairman stated that copies of the Notice of Meeting had been distributed to all members of record on May 17, 2018. On a motion by Me François Morin, seconded by Mr. Warren Simpson, the Notice of Meeting was approved. The Chairman declared that the motion had been carried.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING OF FEBRUARY 28, 2018 AND THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF MAY 30, 2017:

On a motion by Me François Senécal, seconded by Ms. Julie Quenneville, the minutes of the Special General Meeting of February 28, 2018 and of the Annual General Meeting on May 30,

2017 were unanimously adopted.

TO RATIFY THE ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE ADMINISTRATORS SINCE THE LAST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

On a motion by Mr. Mikey Colangelo Lauzon, seconded by Mr. Thomas Leslie, the actions taken by the administrators since the last Annual General Meeting were unanimously adopted.

<u>RATIFICATION OF THE TEMPORARY AMENDMENT TO THE BY-LAWS OF THE CLUB, ARTICLE 6.1:</u> The Chairman read the resolution in full, as stated in the Notice of Meeting distributed to all members of record on May 17, 2018:

The election of a Executive (President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer) and new members of Council will be delayed for a period of at least 30 days to at most four months following the Annual General Meeting to be held on Wednesday, May 30, 2018, starting at 6:30 p.m., in the premises of the Saint James Club.

On a motion by Mr. Erik Moisan, seconded by Mr. Eric Perlinger, the resolution was unanimously carried, including the results of two ballots and two proxies. The Chairman declared that the motion had been carried.

RECOGNITION OF THE MEMBERS WHO PASSED AWAY SINCE THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

The Chairman read the names of members who passed away since the previous Annual General Meeting:

William E. Stavert (Emeritus) Member since 1958
Robert J. Bourdius (Emeritus) Member since 1968
Roy Heenan (Emeritus) Member since 1970
Peter Michael Pitfield (Non-Resident) Member since 1964
John Lemieux (Senior) Member since 1985, Past President 2007-2008
Denis Langelier (Retired) Member since 2016
Elaine Sargeant (Non-Resident) Member since 1989
Janet Blachford (Associate) Member since 1988

One minute of silence was held by the assembly in remembrance of our deceased members.

RECOGNITION OF THE MEMBERS WHO HAVE ATTAINED EMERITUS STATUS AS OF FEBRUARY 1, 2018:

The Chairman read the names of members who have attained Emeritus status as of February 1, 2018:

Stuart Cobbett Roger Hough Michael Vineberg

TREASURERS'S REPORT AND APPROVAL OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE YEAR ENDED JANUARY 31, 2018 AND THE AUDITOR'S REPORT THEREON:

The Treasurer, Mr. Laurent Liagre, made his report. He remarked that the profit of the sale should net between \$3M and \$3.5M. He noted that the severance payment to staff would now be made and the bondholders and primary lender would be repaid. He reported that the Council has approved the Financial Statements for the year ended January 31, 2018 and the auditor's report thereon.

The Treasurer commented that the next step would be to add specialists in investments to the Finance Committee in order to explore short and longer-term placement options. Mr. Bryant Shiller noted that long term or unsecured bonds should be avoided.

APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDITORS FOR THE YEAR 2018-2019

The Treasurer and the Finance Committee recommended the appointment of Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton as auditors for the 2018-2019 year. On a motion by Mary Larson, seconded by Amin Noorani, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton was appointed as auditors for the 2018-2019 year.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President, Mr. Gabriel Zaurrini, made his report. He recognized the tremendous job of the Finance Committee. He thanked Mrs. Sandra Paikowsky and the Library and Arts Committee for their diligence in ensuring that all the Club's heritage be stored and preserved for the future. He thanked the former management team, Mrs. Sylvie Chevarie, Mrs. Julia Kampis and Mrs. Hélène Turcotte.

The President thanked the Executive, Me Christopher Richter, Me François Morin, and Mr. Laurent Liagre, and the members of Council for their outstanding service to the Club. He offered special thanks to his mentor, Me François Senécal, for giving him the opportunity to be President and noted that it has been a privilege and an honour to serve.

PRESENTATION OF THE FUTURE OPTIONS FOR THE CLUB:

The Vice-President, Me Christopher Richter, remarked that we are a Club without a Clubhouse, staff or operations, and that the future of the Club is in the hands of its members. The budget predicted a loss in membership of 50% and the Vice-President reported that the present position is far better. Many members contributed to brainstorming on the future and the challenge is to come to a consensus in future decisions. He thanked Mr. Erik Moisan, Mr. Marc Cormier, Ms. Diana Thibeault, and Mr. Pascal Jarry for their efforts in undertaking a survey of the membership. The Club will have two options ahead: a full-service Club or an intimate space. If those options fail, then distribution or donations become an option, but those are not the goals of the Council. Mr. Eric Perlinger requested that, at the next meeting, the membership should be presented with a vote on a clear future direction for the Club.

The Vice-President thanked the Saint James Club for generously hosting the members this year and announced that Mrs. Mary Larson has agreed to be the next Vice-President. He added that

the next Council will need the support from members and perhaps one full-time employee. Mr. Ron Meisels requested increased communication with members on updates regarding the status of the Club and Ms. Ruby Menasce suggested having another meeting before the next Special General Meeting.

Mr. Eric Perlinger moved to recognize the excellent work done by Council and the Executive. Mr. Tass Grivakes seconded the motion, which was unanimously carried.

ADJOURNMENT OF THE MEETING:

Me François Senécal moved for the adjournment of the meeting. Mr. Erik Moisan seconded the motion, which was unanimously carried. The Chairman declared the meeting adjourned.

François L. Morin, Secretary

Gabriel Zaurrini, President